Long Island DUI Attorney
Need a DUI Lawyer in Long Island or Nassau County? Call (516) 670-5992
New York takes drunk driving very seriously and the laws are very harsh and unforgiving on drunk drivers. The media attention given to accidents involving drugs or alcohol along with pressure from various action groups in past years have helped to bring about tougher laws and increased penalties. If you are caught driving under the influence, you could face DUI charges and possibly lose your license.
Why Choose These DUI Lawyers?
- The two bring 20+ years' combined, hard-hitting experience
- Former Nassau County prosecutors on your side
- 100s of clients defended – proven victories
- Free initial consultation to review your DUI defenses
Searching for a lawyer for a DUI charge in Long Island, NY? If you are facing DUI, DWAI, or DWAI-drug charges, then contact this Long Island firm as soon as possible. The legal team at the firm can help fight to reduce your charges or have them dismissed altogether.
DUI Penalties in New York
The penalties that you may face will all depend on the exact charges. A DUI is different from a DWAI or even a DWAI Drugs. The sentence will vary also based on the number of previous convictions that you have on your record, how close together the convictions occur, and what county you were charged in. The penalties for DUI in New York are as follows:
First Offense DWAI
- BAC level was below .08
- Up to 15 days in jail
- Loss of license for 90 days
- Fine of $300-$500
Second DUI (Within a ten year period)
- Up to four years in jail or prison*
- License revocation for at least one year
- Fine of $1,000-$5,000
First Offense DUI
- Up to one year in jail
- License revocation for no less than 6 months
- Fine of $500-$1,000
(Within a ten year period)
- Up to seven years in jail or prison**
- License revocation for one year & an IID
- Mandatory alcohol evaluation
- Fine of $2,000-$10,000.
*There is not always a prison sentence associated with a first DUI, but there is a mandatory five-day jail sentence or 30 days of mandatory community service.
** For a second DUI, sometimes prison can be avoided, but there is 10 days of mandatory jail time or 60 days of mandatory community service.
DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) is charged when the BAC is .05 to .07. A commercial driver can face a DUI charge for a BAC of .04 or higher. DWAI Drugs is charged when a driver is accused of driving while impaired by drugs or medications. With a permanent DUI conviction on your driving record, you may lose many privileges and have to pay more for your insurance premiums. Enlist the help of a Long Island criminal attorney from Prime & O'Brien, LLP today by calling (516) 670-5992.
What happens if I refused to submit to a breath test?
In the state of New York, the penalties become more severe if you refuse to submit to a chemical test and you are under suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. When you refuse to take the test, then the Department of Motor Vehicles can automatically suspend your license for up to a year.
Fighting this is a separate battle if you are also facing criminal charges. In order to avoid license suspension, you are only given 15 days after your arraignment in which to schedule a refusal hearing. At this hearing, you will be given the opportunity to challenge the suspension or fight for your right to a conditional license so you can drive to work or school.
Long Island DUI Lawyers With 20+ Years of Experience
Being convicted of a DUI can have a major impact on your future. With so much on the line, don't take any risks—you can't be stuck with less than adequate defense. You only get one chance to convince the judge, and your choice of attorney could mean the difference between your freedom and incarceration. Consulting the legal team at Prime & O'Brien, LLP can make all the difference in the outcome of your case and greatly increase your chances of success. They have more than two decades of experience, so don't settle for second best! Need a Long Island DUI attorney? The firm offers a
free initial consultation to all new potential clients, so call them today at (516) 670-5992.
If you are facing allegations of drunk driving,
contact a Long Island DUI Attorney
for the skilled legal representation you deserve and fight for your license!
Our firm also
proudly defends against DUI and drunk driving charges in Hempstead, Hicksville, Huntington, Long Island, Garden City, Suffolk County and Nassau County.
DUI Helpful Resource Links
New York Department of Motor Vehicles
Blood Alcohol Concentration Calculator
Online Breath Alcohol Testing
Field Sobriety Tests
Ignition Interlock Devices