Call Today 516.670.5992
Schedule a Consultation

Fill out the form below to get in touch with our experience defense attorneys.

  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter a message.
    Please select an option.
Arrested for Driving While intoxicated? Retain Our Services from All Over Long Island

Long Island DWI Attorney

Need a DWI Lawyer in Glen Cove?
Call (516) 670-5992

New York takes drunk driving very seriously and the laws are very harsh and unforgiving on drunk drivers. The media attention given to accidents involving drugs or alcohol along with pressure from various activist groups in past years have helped to bring about tougher laws and increased penalties. If you are caught driving while intoxicated, you could face DWI charges and possibly lose your license.

Why Choose These DWI Lawyers?

  • The two bring 30+ years' combined, hard-hitting experience
  • Former Nassau County prosecutors on your side
  • 100s of clients defended – proven victories
  • Free initial consultation to review your DWI defenses

If you are facing DWI, DWAI, or DWAI-drug charges, then contact the Long Island firm as soon as possible. The team can help fight to reduce your charges or have them dismissed altogether.

DWI Penalties in New York

The penalties that you may face will all depend on the exact charges you face. A DWI is different from a DWAI or even a DWAI Drugs.

The sentence will vary also based on:
  • The number of previous convictions that you have on your record
  • How close together the convictions occur
  • What county you were charged in

The penalties for DWI in New York are as follows:

  • First Offense DWAI
    • BAC level was below .08
    • Misdemeanor
    • Up to 15 days in jail
    • Loss of license for 90 days
    • Fine of $300-$500
  • Second DWI (Within a ten year period)
    • Felony
    • Up to four years in jail or prison*
    • License revocation for at least one year
    • Fine of $1,000-$5,000
  • First Offense DWI
    • Misdemeanor
    • Up to one year in jail
    • License revocation for no less than 6 months
    • Fine of $500-$1,000
  • Third DWI (Within a ten year period)
    • Up to seven years in jail or prison**
    • License revocation for one year & an IID
    • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
    • Fine of $2,000-$10,000.

*There is not always a prison sentence associated with a first DWI, but there is a mandatory five-day jail sentence or 30 days of mandatory community service.
** For a second DWI, sometimes prison can be avoided, but there is 10 days of mandatory jail time or 60 days of mandatory community service.

DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) is charged when the BAC is .05 to .07. A commercial driver can face a DWI charge for a BAC of .04 or higher. DWAI Drugs is charged when a driver is accused of driving while impaired by drugs or medications. With a permanent DWI conviction on your driving record, you may lose many privileges and have to pay more for your insurance premiums. Enlist the help of a Long Island DWI attorney from Prime & O'Brien, LLP today.

What happens if I refused to submit to a breath test?

In the state of New York, the penalties become more severe if you refuse to submit to a chemical test and you are under suspicion of driving while intoxicated with drugs or alcohol. When you refuse to take the test, then the Department of Motor Vehicles can automatically suspend your license for up to a year.

Fighting this is a separate battle if you are also facing criminal charges. In order to avoid license suspension, you are only given 15 days after your arraignment in which to schedule a refusal hearing. At this hearing, you will be given the opportunity to challenge the suspension or fight for your right to a conditional license so you can drive to work or school.

Long Island DWI Lawyers With 30+ Years of Experience

Being convicted of a DWI can have a major impact on your future. With so much on the line, don't take any risks—you can't be stuck with less than adequate defense. You only get one chance to convince the judge, and your choice of attorney could mean the difference between your freedom and incarceration. Consulting the legal team at Prime & O'Brien, LLP can make all the difference in the outcome of your case and greatly increase your chances of success. They have more than three decades of experience, so don't settle for second best! The firm offers a free initial consultation to all new potential clients.

If you are facing allegations of drunk driving, contact a Long Island DWI lawyer for the skilled legal representation you deserve and fight for your license!

DWI Helpful Resource Links

The firm also proudly defends against DWI and drunk driving charges in Long Beach, Glen Cove, and Nassau County.

Contact Our Firm Today

All Consultations Are Free and Confidential
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.